Werdsmith

Find Account

If you’re struggling to find your Werdsmith data since replacing or changing your device, the following suggestions might help.

To start, please note that:

  • It’s possible to use Werdsmith without creating an account. If you don’t create an account, your data is saved on your device only.
  • If you save your projects to a Werdsmith account, we never delete them unless you ask us to.
  • Werdsmith never charges money to access your projects.

If you're unable to find your work, please try these steps:

1. Log in with your passkey

Go to your profile and tap "Log in", then choose "Log in with passkey".

If you have multiple passkeys for Werdsmith, try each one until you find what you're looking for. Your passkey may be available on another device. In that case, please try logging in on that device.

You can learn more about passkeys here.

2. Log in with your email

If you added an email address to your Werdsmith account, choose "Log in with email" and enter that address. If an account exists, we'll send you a security code.

You can repeat this with any other email addresses you may have used. Search your inboxes for previous messages from Werdsmith if you aren't sure which address is connected to your account.

3. Find a backup

Werdsmith might have saved backups of your work to iCloud, if you had that feature enabled at the time and were logged in to an iCloud account. You can find backups in the app's "Backups" section or in the Files app.

4. Find an account with an old or inaccessible email

Try logging in with your passkey first. If you no longer have the passkey or access to the email connected to your account, please get in touch. On rare occasions, we may be able to help you recover an account without either login method.


If you think you might have been using Werdsmith without an account, it may be difficult to recover work after you delete the app or lose/replace your device. Without an account, your data is only saved to your device and not stored online - for security reasons. This means it’s only possible to recover data from the original device on which you created the work, or in any iCloud backups.

For help with iCloud backups, please visit Apple’s support page.