Werdsmith

Recover

Losing your work is one of the worst things that can happen to a writer, which is why we've built many different recovery systems to stop it from happening.

If you’ve recently changed device and can’t find your writing, you can read about finding your account here.

If you've accidentally deleted something or something has gone missing, please read about our recovery systems below and try some of the suggestions:

1. Undo

If you accidentally make a change you don't want, use the standard Undo action. You can also shake your device to undo a recent change.

2. History

Werdsmith keeps a log of the changes you make to a document, so that if anything goes wrong, you can go back to an older version.

If you deleted something within a document, or some part of your document has gone missing, you can try the History function to get it back.

Just tap the "..." button on the edit screen, then tap 'History' and scroll back in time to see if you can find an older version of your document with the missing changes still saved.

Keep in mind that the History feature requires a free Werdsmith account, because your history is saved online to save space on your device.

If you didn't create a Werdsmith account before you deleted your work, your History is saved for the time you’re editing a document.

In future, creating a Werdsmith account and using the History function as soon as you detect a problem makes it more likely you’ll find the lost work.

3. Archive

If you swiped on a document in the main list and archived it, you should be able to find it in Profile > Archive.

Tap on a document, then tap 'Restore' to move it back to the main list.

4. Backups

Every time you close the Werdsmith app, a backup file of your latest changes is saved in Profile > Backups.

Your backups are stored on your device and in iCloud (if it's enabled in the Settings app).

Backups are kept at regular intervals, so you can go back in time and recover something from the past if you need to.

5. Export

You can tap here to export your Werdsmith data, send the Export file to yourself and open it. Your deleted work might be inside.

6. Delete Detection

As you're writing, the app watches out for big changes to your document. If the app detects that a large amount of writing has just disappeared from your document, a confirmation will appear. Tap "Undo" to restore it, or "Continue" to keep the change.

If the above hints haven't helped, it's possible what you deleted is gone. There's nothing worse than losing work, which is why we've tried everything we can to help you if it ever happens. We hope these tips have helped.